Theres never been a better time to be alive

Standard

I came across on Ben Casnocha an old post about life. That’s not a very good way to begin a sentence, however let me elaborate. He speaks of this being the best time to be alive. For instance in the UK and Ireland crime is down as well as in the USA, and general things seem to be improving. The great Computer Scientist John Mc Carthy used to write usenet posts all about human progress, and although we should be careful about some things we can do technologically, we should encourage human progress. As a young intellectual and gentleman, I think that I sometimes have the tendency to think that the past was better. A pre facebook nirvana when everyone sat around and read the Illiad. In reality this is the best possible time to be alive, and pining for better times is a distraction from current times. Go and live, and I guess I should get around to finish reading Dostoyevsky!

The internet and computing, with their wonderful tools (see Wolfram Alpha for an example) is making smart people smarter, as Gian Carlo Rota stated one of our goals should be to be computer illiterate squared.

