The truth as a blessing

Standard

Obviously it is beyond the scope of this article to discuss, ‘what is truth’. I leave that problem for people a lot smarter than me.
But I came across a beautiful quotation by A.N. Kolmogorov a great Russian Mathematician.
‘I have lived being guided by a principle that the truth is a blessing, and our duty is to find it and to guard it’.
Truth is not the same as fashion. Sometimes we forget that in our lives, regardless of what the public consensus is on certain scientific matters, whether these are climate change or whatever – reality is reality.
We run a great risk post the horrendous Earthquake in Japan of increasing fear about Nuclear Power.
Unfortunately the truth is that we probably can’t sustain our lifestyles without relying on Nuclear Power, and the concern about radiation and a lack of appreciation among the public of scientific evidence is greatly worrying.
Obviously I ask those Scientifically motivated individuals to make others aware of the truth on these matters.
The recent natural disasters and engineering problems has brought to my attention the fact that as my friend Dr Mike Jeffrey said to me ‘we still don’t understand Newtonian Mechanics’. I end this short essay with a link to a Timosenko acceptance speech by Grigory Isaakovich Barenblatt. We still don’t understand how to respond and prevent natural disasters, and these are effectively Applied Mechanics problems.

