A Bayesian Hierarchical model for the Six Nations.

Standard

I’m a data scientist and a massive Rugby fan. I recently built a Bayesian model, based on some papers I found on Bayesian models in soccer. The basic idea is to simulate the results of the 6 teams based on historical data, and the model takes into account home advantage. I suggest you read it and I’ll stick the code on github soon.

The sad fact as an Irish fan is that England win the 6 nations in the majority of the cases based on this model and simulation.

Enjoy! I’ll write up a tutorial in the future about this probably but I found this a useful exercise.

You can see the IPython Notebook here

And blog post here http://springcoil.github.io/Bayesian_Model.html

Leave a Reply

