What I’ve been working on – late 2015 and early 2016

computing
Standard

I find it useful for morale just to write up what I’ve been working on and what I’ve learned over the last few months.

PyMC3: Bayesian Logistic Regression: Bayesian Logistic Regression and Model Selection – I wrote an example of how to use Deviance Information Criterion for model selection in a Bayesian Logistic Regression. This example includes quite a few plots and visualisations in Seaborn.

Rugby Analytics: A Hierarchical Model of the Six Nations 2015 in PyMC3. This is based on the work I showcased at my talks, I finally got it into the PyMC3 Examples directory.

Comparison of Fibonacci functions – This is a classic interview question but I was interested in putting together an example comparing different data structures in Python. In particular this was a good exercise to make sure I understood lazy evaluation.

Hamiltonian Monte Carlo – I wrote up some notes on the Hamiltonian Monte-Carlo algorithm. This is used a lot in PyMC3 but I hadn’t gone through the theory before. The piece isn’t original but I thought it was worth putting on my blog.

Deep Learning – I wrote a short post based on a days work on getting Deep Learning to work on AWS. My advice is don’t re-invent the wheel and some of the Nvidia drivers are incredibly difficult to install. I was able to finally get GPU speedup and reproduce some examples from Tensorflow.

The Setup – I interviewed myself with my own version of the ‘Setup’ a noted website. This is just me talking about what tools I use both software and hardware. I found it useful to think about how my tools affect my thought processes and creativity so I recommend you do it too 🙂

Hacking InsideAirBnB – I was using AirBnB over the last few months, so I thought it would be good to look for examples of data sources. This isn’t a very complete Machine Learning project but I put it here anyway. I might fix it up and add some more feature extraction, visualisation and PCA/SVD type tools to this.

Image Similarity Database – I haven’t had the chance to work with image data much professionally. So when I came across this from my friend Thomas Hunger I forced myself to reproduce it. I used Zalando image data in this example.

Three Things I wish I learned earlier about Machine Learning – I first got interested in Machine Learning in 2009 when I was interning in Shanghai. I think the only notable work I did back then was using Matlab to do some simple clustering algorithms for customer segmentation. I don’t claim several years professional data-science or Machine Learning experience but I’m not a complete neophyte, and this article is just about what I’ve learned. I republished it on Medium  too, so pick whichever version you prefer.

Dataconomy  – I interviewed Kevin Hillstrom a consultant in Analytics, he discussed the need for accuracy and business acumen, which certainly applies to Data Analytics.

What does Big Data have to do with the Food Industry – I wrote a non-technical  article on the opportunities for Data Science in the Food industry, this was the first time my commentary was featured on IrishTechNews.

There’ll be more stuff from me soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

